Managing life

The first thing I’m going to talk about is how to manage our own lives in a way which will create a peaceful and relaxed mind state. Most of the times we are so full of thoughts about what we are doing and where we are that we forget the most important question and that in which is WHY we are doing what we do and  found where we are.

We all remember the “The little prince” a story by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry  that was written in 1943. The book tells about a boy which came from a foreign planet. I won’t start telling you about the whole book, I will just quote part of chapter one:

Chapter 1

Once when I was six years old I saw a magnificent picture in a book, called True Stories from Nature, about the primeval forest. It was a picture of a boa constrictor in the act of swallowing an animal. Here is a copy of the drawing.

boa constrictor swallowing an animal

In the book it said: “Boa constrictors swallow their prey whole, without chewing it. After that they are not able to move, and they sleep through the six months that they need for digestion.”

I pondered deeply, then, over the adventures of the jungle. And after some work with a colored pencil I succeeded in making my first drawing. My Drawing Number One. It looked something like this:

Drawing Number One

I showed my masterpiece to the grown-ups, and asked them whether the drawing frightened them.

But they answered: “Frighten? Why should any one be frightened by a hat?”

My drawing was not a picture of a hat. It was a picture of a boa constrictor digesting an elephant. But since the grown-ups were not able to understand it, I made another drawing: I drew the inside of a boa constrictor, so that the grown-ups could see it clearly. They always need to have things explained. My Drawing Number Two looked like this:

Drawing Number Two

The grown-ups’ response, this time, was to advise me to lay aside my drawings of boa constrictors, whether from the inside or the outside, and devote myself instead to geography, history, arithmetic, and grammar. That is why, at the age of six, I gave up what might have been a magnificent career as a painter. I had been disheartened by the failure of my Drawing Number One and my Drawing Number Two. Grown-ups never understand anything by themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them.”

Which one of us has been told by the adults what to do, who to become and what to believe? All of who we are is the pieces of the pictures that other thought us to be. The dreams of the children we were, we left some where  behind and gave up for growing. we managed to realize that life is not a dream and that in order to be somebody we need to except what the society expects from us.

But no. I’m not going to talk to you about unfair it is, or how you should live your dreams no matters what happens because we do live in a life which demands from us all the time. I’m going to talk to you about how to manage your life without giving up your dreams. I’m going to test, with you, how to manage time in ways which will benefit the most.

Let’s take for an example the next situation: You find yourself at the age of 26, doing the same job for five years. The same job that everybody else told you to get, so that one day you will have millions. You wake up at seven o’clock everyday, from Monday to Friday (Sunday to Thursday),  and get to work by nine. Find yourself back at home by seven in the evening and that’s about it.

But what will happen if you choose to take advantage of your time, Including work time? What makes your blood rush and your heart to accelerate? Can you some how manage to find the empty holes in job time that you can use to your benefit? How about learning some new skill? Improve existing one? Study about the co-workers around you. Or even, learning about yourself what it is you want to be and do.

And what if work is too demanding? You can not find the place for you thoughts, skills improvement and learning new things. Lets say that you stay awake until eleven o’clock. You still have five full hours to live you own expectation. Then from seven to eight you decide to eat and do some home assignments. Then you  have four hours to completely invest in yourself. Pay attention that if you are one part of a couple, a good and better relation is when you give each other the time to improve yourselves.

I want to be a painter, and also a writer, and a better manager, and a friend, and a daughter, and an athlete, and wealthy, and educated, and one day a mother. In order to be all I desire, the first thing I need to do is  to put the mile stones of my life. First the big rocks, then the middle and at finally the small ones.

From now on, I will write here about management of my own life, career, relationships, family, body and time.

Yours,

Noy.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

